Candy Collections Logo

Are Smarties Gluten Free?

No. Smarties are NOT gluten free in the UK due to the wheat flour used in the manufacture and could be harmful to people with Coeliac Disease.

Smarties Ingredients

  • Sugar
  • Skimmed Milk Powder
  • Cocoa Mass
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Wheat Flour
  • Butterfat (from Milk)
  • Lactose and Proteins from Whey (from Milk)
  • Rice Starch
  • Emulsifier (Lecithins)
  • Colours (Beetroot Red Carotene, Curcumin)
  • Natural Flavouring
  • Spirulina Concentrate
  • Glazing Agents (Carnauba Wax, Beeswax White)
  • Fruit and Vegetable Concentrates (Safflower, Radish),
  • Barley Malt Extract


Dietary Information

Contains Barley

Contains Milk

Contains Wheat

Free From Artificial Colours

Free From Artificial Flavours

Free From Artificial Preservatives

However, if you’re looking for gluten free choices and want an alternative to Smarties, then we can recommend Dairyfine Choc Um’s which is an own brand label of Aldi.