Candy Collections Logo

Is Popcorn Gluten Free?

Yes, popcorn is gluten free!

Corn is a distinctive form of grain which does not contain any gluten whatsoever. However, cross-contamination with a gluten product may take place in the farmer’s field, in the manufacturing process, or even in your own kitchen.

Popped corn contains corn, oil and maybe butter and sugar, which are all gluten free.

Although the majority of popcorn is naturally gluten free, some commercial brands may contain this group of proteins.

Popcorn made in some facilities that also manufacture foods containing gluten may be at risk of cross-contamination.

Additionally, popcorn that has been flavoured or made using particular additives may contain gluten. For example, specific coatings or spice blends could include gluten if the product has not been specifically labelled as gluten-free.

Some popular gluten-containing flavour enhancers include malt, wheat starch, brewer’s yeast and soy sauce.

If you are looking for a good source of gluten free sweets and popcorn, then take a minute to browse the gluten free section of this website.