Candy Collections Logo

Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Yes, the majority of Marshmallows in the UK are gluten-free.

Some marshmallows are produced with ingredients such as wheat starch or glucose syrup. These ingredients are derived from wheat and are not gluten-free, and should be avoided. However, many marshmallow brands in the UK are made with corn starch (maize) instead of wheat starch. This makes them gluten-free.

The Candy Collections range of Marshmallows are manufactured using coeliac-friendly ingredients which consist only of:

  • Glucose-fructose syrup
  • sugar
  • water
  • pork gelatine
  • anticaking agent: maize starch;
  • flavouring
  • colour: E120

The best way to be completely sure that the marshmallows you’re buying are gluten-free is by checking the label. Usually, a gluten-free product will be labelled as such under its Nutritional values.

When checking the label watch out for the following ingredients as they are not suitable for gluten-free diets:

  • wheat protein
  • hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • wheat starch
  • wheat flour
  • malt
  • triticum vulgare
  • triticum spelta
  • hordeum vulgare
  • secale cereal

If you don’t see ‘gluten-free’ on the label, look closely at the ingredients list. It can help you determine if some ingredients contain gluten. Be cautious of any products containing the following:

  • vegetable protein
  • natural flavourings
  • natural colourings
  • modified food starch
  • artificial flavour
  • hydrolysed protein
  • hydrolysed vegetable protein
  • dextrin
  • maltodextrin

To be absolutely safe, we recommend the Candy Collections gluten-free sweets range of marshmallows as they are gluten-free and dairy-free and are suitable for a coeliac-friendly diet.